Parking and Driving at UP

Parking Regulations

Traffic and parking regulations are enforced 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. In general, all motor vehicle laws as defined in the Oregon Revised Statutes and the Portland Traffic Code have been adopted by the University of Portland and will be enforced as applicable to the University of Portland campus.

The University does not take responsibility for injury, loss, or damage suffered on its property.

Parking regulations are subject to amendment as the need arises.

All Parking Regulations

River Campus Parking Lot Shuttle

The River Campus parking lot has 113 stalls for the campus community to park. A shuttle runs to and from the parking lot to the Pilot House from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. weekdays when classes are in session. Contact Public Safety for any questions or assistance at x7161 (on-campus), 503.943.7161, or publicsafety@up.edu

Vehicle Registration

The University requires that any vehicle that will be used as transportation to and from campus must be registered with the Department of Public Safety. There is no charge for this registration.

Register Your Vehicle

Disabled Parking

Disabled parking spaces are to be used only by vehicles prominently displaying appropriate identification as described in ORS 811.602. A copy of this statute is available at oregonlaws.org/ors/811.602. Drivers without a disabled parking permit may be cited for stopping or blocking a disabled parking space, including the striped spaces adjacent to the disabled space.

Electronic Vehicle Parking

An electric vehicle (EV) charging station is located on the main parking lot, adjacent to the Clark library. There are two spaces reserved for EV vehicles only.

EV parking spaces are limited to 4 hours of use for vehicle charging, after which the vehicle must move to an appropriate parking space.

Freshman Student Parking

Resident students classified as freshmen may not bring an automobile to the University. If this policy poses a hardship, an exception may be granted by the director of public safety. Applications for exception must include justification for granting an exemption. An application for an exception does not guarantee the exemption will be granted.

Freshmen resident students who park their car on campus, or any adjacent street within a one mile radius without a permit, violate this policy and are subject to a $50 fine each day they are found in violation.

Driving at UP

For community members who will be driving others for University sponsored activity or business, please review the vehicle and transportation policy and submit a copy of the Driver Information Form. Students must attend a driver safety training. Contact the public safety office at publicsafety@up.edu or at 503.943.7161 to inquire about upcoming trainings.

Contact

University of Portland
5000 N. Willamette Blvd.,
Portland, Oregon 97203-5798

503.943.8000

webmaster@up.edu