Hall Type: Male
Eligibility: All class years
Total Rooms: 62
Air Conditioning: No
Room Types: Single, Double, Triple
Break Period: Closed for Christmas break
Hall Director: Nathan Widdicombe
Assistant Hall Director: Ezequiel Delgado-Cervantes
Pastoral Resident: Fr. Pat Hannon, CSC
Hall Motto: In Fide et Lenitate (Through Faith and Kindness)
Hall Colors: Green and white
Hall Symbol: The shillelagh (symbolizing vigor and resilience)
Nicknames for Residents: The "Christie Gentlemen" and "Christie Crazies"
Hall Mass: Mondays at 10:15 p.m.
Christie Hall is named for Archbishop Alexander Christie, the University's founder. It was built in 1911 and remodeled in 1995. Christie Hall was the first residence hall on campus, and originally housed about 80 male students and a contingent of priests in "state-of-the art" rooms featuring electricity, steam heat, and hot and cold running water. Over the years, Christie has housed the campus library, a two-lane bowling alley, a gentlemen's smoking room, a darkroom, and classrooms. Today, the bowling alley is gone, but the building boasts a modern surround-sound television lounge, a beautiful chapel, and a Muslim prayer room.
What is the average size of a Christie Hall room?
Christie is an old building and was not built at a time when uniform rooms were common, so not all of the rooms are the same size. A standard double room is approximately 180 square feet. Many of the rooms in Christie Hall are triple rooms, with an average of about 240 square feet. A single room is approximately 117 square feet.
How is a double room in Christie Hall laid out?
Beds can stand alone and are movable; wardrobes are freestanding, large and difficult to move; desks are movable. Rooms have wood laminate floors.